Great Basin CESU

The Great Basin Cooperative Ecosystem Studies Unit (GB-CESU) encompasses the Great Basin region including portions of five states: Nevada, California, Idaho, Oregon and Utah, and is a partnership among 14 universities and eight federal agencies. [Read More]

Great Basin Consortium

A consortium of partners who coordinate and collaborate on science delivery in the Great Basin. Our mission is to increase communication and coordination among the partner organizations in order to enhance the effectiveness of their research, management, outreach and funding activities. [Read More]

Lake Tahoe Research

Research and outreach efforts in the Tahoe Basin. [Read More]

Walker Basin Project

A collaborative effort of two of Nevada’s major research institutions, DRI and the University of Nevada, Reno. [Read More]

Learn more about the history of the Academy

Water for the Seasons logoWater for the Seasons

This $3.8 million project will work toward integrating science and water policy research to identify the expected impacts of climate change and solutions for protecting valuable water resources throughout northern Nevada, focusing on the Truckee-Carson River System as a model for snow-fed arid-land river systems across the American West. [Read More]

Native Waters on Arid Lands

USDA-funded ‘Native Waters on Arid Lands’ brings together scientists, 1862 and 1994 land-grant institutions and tribal communities of Great Basin and Southwest to address agricultural water challenges. [Read More]


Whittell Forest and Wildlife Area/Little Valley Field Station

For more than 30 years, the University has owned the Whittell Forest and Wildlife Area, 20 miles southwest of Reno in the Sierra Nevada, dedicated to the study of natural history. Recent funding by the USDA allows for the construction of a teaching/research facility on the site.